

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Saturday, October 17, 2020 at 09:00 a.m. Held virtually using ZOOM.

IN ATTENDANCE

VOTING: Diana Boisvert, Patti Bonhomme, Sarah Clark, Xiaohua Cui, Tracey Donohue, Troy Hale, Emilie Josh, Marie-Therese Mageau, Charissa McKay, Frédéric Nolet, Chris Parkin, Lisa Penzo, Kate Peters, Emma Piayda, Erin Quiring, Stephanie Rosenbaum, Corrina Ross, Karen Saffran, Hollen Sheldrake, Richard Slevinsky, Amber Stewart, Stephanie Symes, Luis Valencia, Maria Valencia, Victoria Wishart.

STAFF: Jon MacDougall (Network Manager, Membership & Donor Services, CPF National), Rebecca Lancaster (Executive Director, CPF NS), Candas Resch (Financial Administrator), Trish Rognvaldson (Marketing Coordinator), Cathy Stone (Director of Operations, CPF National), Michael Tryon (Executive Director) and Isabelle Yeo (Branch Outreach Coordinator).

1. CALL TO ORDER

President Wishart called the meeting to order at 09:04 a.m.

2. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Amendment: Correct the spelling of Karen Saffran's name.

MOVED by Sarah Clarke

THAT the Agenda be adopted as presented.

SECONDED by Emma Piayda

CARRIED

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

MOVED by Karen Saffran SECONDED by Patti Bonhomme THAT the Minutes of the 2019 AGM be adopted as presented. CARRIED

4. TREASURER'S REPORT

Shannon Nelson presented the audited 2018/19 financial report.

MOVED by Sarah Clarke

THAT the Audited Financial Report for the operating year April 1, 2018 to March 31, 2019 be accepted.

CARRIED

5. APPOINTMENT OF AUDITOR

Sarah Clarke reported that Board has been satisfied over the past 8 years with the services of our auditors.

MOVED by Sarah Clarke SECONDED by Patti Bonhomme THAT the firm Clews, Shoemaker, Viney & Friesen Chartered Accountants be appointed auditor for the fiscal year 2020/21. CARRIED

6. PRESIDENT'S REPORT

President Wishart highlighted key messages from the President's Report.

MOVED by Richard Slevinsky

THAT the 2019-20 President's Report be accepted.

SECONDED by Emma Piayda

CARRIED

October 17, 2020

Page 2 of 2

7. EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Michael Tryon reiterated key points from the Executive Director's Report

MOVED by Erin Quiring

SECONDED by Marie-Therese Mageau

THAT the 2019-20 Executive Director's Report be accepted.

CARRIED

8. REPORT OF THE BYLAWS COMMITTEE

Emilie Josh advised that, as the new CPF Alberta Branch Bylaws have only been in effect for the past year, no edits or changes will be presented at this year's AGM. Your Board of Directors and staff will commence reviewing them as part of your new board of director's mandate. We will advise the CPF membership via the regular Member Communique of any recommended changes to the bylaws and they will be published on the CPF Alberta website.

9. REPORT OF THE POLICY COMMITTEE

Patti Bonhomme advised that the National Canadian Parents for French Bylaws Committee is still working on the new draft set of Branch Bylaws. We are anticipating seeing this final draft in November. Until they have been received, reviewed and accepted, CPF Alberta will continue to operate under its existing Policies. Once the new policies have been passed by the CPF Voting Delegates, CPF Alberta will advise the membership via the regular Member Communique that they have been received, approved by your CPF Alberta Board of Directors and published on the website.

10. REPORT OF THE NOMINATION COMMITTEE

As Emma Piayda is just finishing her second term as Vice President, is still eligible to remain on the board for an additional two years, and that there are currently no other board members willing to accept the nomination to the position of president at this time, the following motion is made:

MOVED by: Victoria Wishart

That Emma Piayda's name be let stand for the position of Vice President for the term ending at the AGM in 2021.

CARRIED

Victoria Wishart presented the following nominees for the Board of Directors:

- Diana BOISVERT of Grande Prairie, Director:
- Sarah CLARK of Okotoks. Treasurer:
- Emilie JOSH of Edmonton, Director; and
- Erin QUIRING of Airdrie, Secretary.

MOVED by Patti Bonhomme THAT the report of the Nominations Committee be received. SECONDED by Emilie Josh CARRIED

It is noted that that the thanks of this assembly, CPF Alberta and its members are extended to Shannon for almost 20 years of serving CPF at the chapter, branch and national levels.

10. ELECTIONS

Victoria Wishart reported that having no further nominations, she declared Diana Boisvert, Sarah Clark, Emilie Josh and Erin Quiring are elected by acclamation.

11. REMARKS

President Wishart opened the floor for questions, but received none.

12. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to discuss, President Wishart declared the 2020 Annual General Meeting adjourned at 09:36 a.m.

October 17, 2020

Erin Quiring, Secretary